Institution for Social and Policy Studies

Advancing Research • Shaping Policy • Developing Leaders


Anne Alstott is the Jacquin D. Bierman Professor in Taxation at Yale Law School. An expert in taxation and social policy, she was named a professor at Yale Law School in 1997 and originally named the Jacquin D. Bierman Professor of Taxation in 2004. She served as deputy dean in 2002 and 2004 and has won the Yale Law Women teaching award three times. From 2008 to 2011, she was the Manley O. Hudson Professor of Law at Harvard Law School.

Graduate Student, Yale Law
Ofra Bloch is a doctorate candidate at Yale Law School, where she also completed her LL.M. degree in 2015. Embracing a historical perspective, Ofra’s work explores questions of inequality and law. In her dissertation, she examines the ways in which affirmative action law and policy successfully fight some forms of inequality while sustaining others. She is currently exploring the shift towards class-based affirmative action in higher education and aims to develop an understanding of its implications and trade-offs.
J. Skelly Wright Professor of Law

Heather Gerken is the J. Skelly Wright Professor of Law at Yale Law School where she specializes in election law, constitutional law, and civil procedure. Professor Gerken is one of the country’s leading experts on voting rights and election law, the role of groups in the democratic process, and the relationship between diversity and democracy. A native of Massachusetts, Professor Gerken graduated from Princeton University, where she received her A.B.

Dan Markovits
Guido Calabresi Professor of Law at Yale Law School

Daniel Markovits is the Guido Calabresi Professor of Law at Yale Law School.  He works in the philosophical foundations of private law, moral and political philosophy, and behavioral economics.

Tracey Meares
Walton Hale Hamilton Professor of Law

Office Location: 127 Wall Street, Room L35
Phone: 203-432-4074

Subscribe to Law